It’s a long way from May 1, but from where I sit (and bet), the Kentucky Derby can’t come too soon.

And I’ll bet you feel the way I do.

So let’s talk Triple Crown.

Ain’t been done sine 1978, Affirmed.

Other winners include Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973) and Seattle Slew (1977).

This year the Triple Crown races will take place, as I said at the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs on 1 May 2010, the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course on 15 May 2010, and the Belmont Stakes at Belmont Park on 5 June 2010.

366 horses already have been nominated to race. Early nominations, in case you didn’t know are $600 per horse…later on, entries are $6,000.

All entries will be closing on 27 March 2010.

And what are some names to look for? Try  Lookin At Lucky, Vale of York, She Be Wild and Blink Luck, have made their way onto the nominations list, with eight nominations from Ireland, three from Britain and four from Canada.

Nominations for this year’s event have dropped off a little compared to the 401 early nominations of 2009, and eleven were added to the nominations list after the early phase of nominations.

Senior vice president for Churchill Downs racing, Donald Richardson, commented that even though the nomination field is smaller this year, it has not taken away the competitiveness of the event, as all the nominations are worthy contenders in their own right. Everyone will be holding their breath for the Kentucky Derby to see who will take the lead to be a contender for the Triple Crown title.

Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply