The Grand National has a long and rich history, here are some key events that shaped the race in the early part of the last history, facts which could well be of interest to anyone looking for Grand National 2011 tips.

1901 – A blanket of snow covered the course and the stewards chose to ignore the protest of the jockeys and the race ended up being run in a fierce blizzard. Grudon, made all of the running to give jockey Arthur Nightingall his third victory in the race.

1904 – Manifesto ran in the Grand National for a record eighth time. He won the contest twice in 1897 and 1899, came third on three occasions and fourth, only failing to complete the course once. He couldn’t make the first four on his swansong though and bowed out with a gallant eighth.

1908 – Fred Withington became the first trainer to saddle first and second in the race with Rubio leading home his stablemate Mattie MacGregor.

1915 – Ally Sloper becomes the first Grand National winner to be owned by a woman, in this case Lady Nelson.

1916-18 – WW1 stopped the race being run at Aintree and a replacement race was run at Gatwick Racecourse, which no longer exists and was based on the site that now houses the international airport.

1927 – The first BBC radio commentary of the Grand National was broadcast by Meyrick Good and George Allison. They had to cope with the largest field to date, 37, and misty conditions calling home favourite Sprig in a thrilling finish. This is where the habit of searching out tips for Grand National started to become something of an obsession for the general public.

1929 – 66 runners provided the biggest field for the race ever and for the second year in succession a 100/1 chance prevailed when the seven-year-old Gregalach triumphed.

1934 – Golden Miller became the only horse ever to win the Grand National and Cheltenham Gold Cup in the same season. This was the only occasion that Golden Miller completed the race in five attempts.

1938 – 17-year-old Bruce Hobbs became the youngest winning jockey when guiding home Battleship.

1939 – Workman won the race 100 years after the first running of the race in 1839.

Leave a Reply